BancorpSouth Bank, Review

BancorpSouth Bank, Review

Average rating based on 14 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
7
4 star:
1
3 star:
1
2 star:
0
1 star:
5
Claims Inheritance Funds
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by MRF261973, Jun. 18, 2015

Please Activate my account so i can make a wire transfer to my bank in Philippines

Many Thnaks
Mrs.Freemantle

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Just use a Credit Union, terrible bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by RyanSmith, Jul. 25, 2014

Really bad costumer service.  Account was robbed, received little help or sympathy.  Then they charged me over a grand in overdraft despite me never opting in, so they will break the law to fleece customers.  The idiot branch manager could barely speak English and seemed to not understand it at all.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had >10 banks before.
* this review was made on BancorpSouth Bank, Colonnade Parkway Branch at Birmingham, AL
9 of 9 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by JordanLight 2015-09-25 15:41:27
Per the comment above - THIS IS THE EXACT same thing that happened to me. My account was robbed and they allowed for over $900 in negative balance! The branch manager called me after I had already spoken to corporate 2 days before, yet she had no idea of the theft. They ran up a ton of overdraft fees. I told them I wanted no over-draft protection as well, and guess what!? I had some PayPal account still attached to the checking account and a couple charges went through and ...$400 more in fees! With no call. Now the manager is not returning my calls. BANCORPSOUTH is the WORST!!!!!
no problems here
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by momoney, May. 31, 2014

this bank os excellent to deal they even have the mobile app to keep trak of your spending. the staff is very nice and professional as well.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on BancorpSouth Bank, Shelby Branch at Memphis, TN
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Just don't..
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by AnarJb, Apr. 11, 2014

Even depositing cash into my account at a teller, money has come up missing from my account for days on end. It takes checks more than 2 weeks to go through most times, and even though I'm opted out from over-draft, the bank allows expenses to hit my card. They refuse to do any kind of refund most times, and when you ARE supposed to have one waved, in my experience, they wait until Friday when you are hit with a second fee. They also recently upped their Overdraft fee a full dollar more, and seemingly told no one about it. They surely didn't tell me or anyone I know who banks here. Nothing but problems with this bank, especially this branch in the Greystone Place. Friendliness to customers only goes so far, but no one there seems to care about those of us with barely any money in bankruptcy to wave a fee that wasn't supposed to happen in the first place.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on BancorpSouth Bank, Greystone Branch at Jackson, TN
5 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Very Alarming
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Apple76, Aug. 15, 2013

I deposited a rather large check into my savings account and when I checked my statement on line, it was pending. The next morning, I checked to make sure it went through and the money was no longer there. After calling and speaking with the bank, the lady was very nice and apologetic. She explained that the problem occured in the proofing department and someone entered the number wrong and the check was rejected and deleted from my account. Had I not called or ever noticed the money was not there in time, what would have happened to that check and my money?? I check my balance everyday with my phone, so I am well aware of my funds. This is very alarming to me, that a simple click of a wrong number could have cost me thousands. This incident has Definitely raised my concerns with banks and there lack of concern with my money.   

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on BancorpSouth Bank, New Albany Branch at New Albany, MS
6 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Chuckster
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by chuckster, Mar. 08, 2013

I found the employees at the Bank, especially Seagrove, to be very friendly and helpful. I enjoy banking there. Everyone is very knowledgeable.
I love the fact that I pay no ATM fees with my Debit Card. I live a distance away from the Bank and this helps a lot.
The checking account I have is also perfect for me.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on BancorpSouth Bank, Seagrove Branch at Santa Rosa Beach, FL
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Teacher
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ForEverYoung, Jan. 04, 2013

I LOVE THIS BANK!!! ALL THE BANCORPSOUTH ARE GREAT,BUT THE ONE IN VAN BUREN IS AWESOME!!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on BancorpSouth Bank, Van Buren Branch at Van Buren, AR
2 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

NEEDS TO GET WITH CURRENT WORLD TECHNOLOGY
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by kleinster, Jan. 03, 2013

Took one full week to pay my mortgage with their online mortgage payment system. They use an antiquated check draft system which takes forever unlike everyone elses automatic draft system. For one full week I had no idea whether or not the money was going to come out of my account before the deadline and I would have to pay late fees. This bank desperately needs to get with new world technology, it's as painful as banking at your grandma's local 1920's bank. Pay your mortage a week in advance with this bullcrap bank. What a headache. The only reason I have them is because I messed up and don't want to have redo my mortgage.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on BancorpSouth Bank, Bancorpsouth at Flowood, MS
5 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mortgage Refinance
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by mcdevitta, Jul. 05, 2012

I was looking to refinance my home and after speaking with several banks I found that even with the monthly savings closing cost where going to be very high.  I luckly came across Kathy Kelly and she was fantastic.  I would highly recommend Kathy and BrancorpSouth.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on BancorpSouth Bank, Trussville Branch at Birmingham, AL
4 of 6 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by mrsr 2013-05-23 13:51:53
The comments that I have read are not necessarily true.  First, they are pretty up to date with technology. 2nd they do NOT charge if you are NOT overdrawn (although,there method of paying debits was unethical, they did post credits before debits)and if you had a Christmas Club and you didn't get a check, that you say you had, go to the branch and check on it.  Did you move?  Was your account charged off?  Did you put money into it every week?
I also want to agree with the poor customer service at Birmingham locations.  In particular the Trussville & Moody branches.  The managers have no customer or employee skills.  They are both loud and obnoxious. Trussville does discriminate. The tellers are rude and don't care of about the customers either.  Too busy gossiping,texting or talking on phone.  And is it a common practice to have a box full of money sitting in a drawer for all to see? Stay away from these branches!!!!
Horrible
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by RealPerson, Apr. 13, 2012

They will charge you over draft fees even if you're not over drafted. This is the worst bank I have ever dealt with. Don't do a Christmas account with them because still to this day I have not got my check from where I started one. This is a horrible bank. They are also under a big lawsuit due to the over draft. If you were thinking about going here to bank, please think again!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on BancorpSouth Bank, Albertville Branch at Albertville, AL
4 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Wonderful staff, great service, allows one on one conversations with people, not machines.
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Bansheelta, Jan. 25, 2012

I have never had such a rewarding and profitable company to work with as Bancorp South in both locations in Pleasant Grove and on New Boston road. I refer all that I can to this bank and no one I know has had any problems from them.  Keep up the good work!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on BancorpSouth Bank, Texarkana Pleasant Grove Branch at Texarkana, TX
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Excellent
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by DuckHeadLodge, Nov. 02, 2011

I have taken several (commercial)loans from this bank. They have a very knowlegable staff, and competitve  interest rates. Everyone at the bank is friendly and helpful. (not sure which bank the other reviewer visited, but I am guessing it wasn't this one),

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on BancorpSouth Bank, Stuttgart Main at Stuttgart, AR
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Great People
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by mien, Apr. 26, 2011

Everybody I have dealt with has been friendly and pleasant, going out of their way to help me.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on BancorpSouth Bank, Operations Center at Nacogdoches, TX
4 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Rude
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Other Services
by local, Mar. 02, 2011

Branch environment rude & condescending.  Will do business with small local bank instead of corporate giants who don't care from now on.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on BancorpSouth Bank, Campbell Branch at Springfield, MO
5 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Banks Nearby

Progressive Bank, Fern Avenue Financial Center (0.1 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
8550 Fern Avenue
Shreveport, LA 71105
Cross Keys Bank, Shreveport Business Center (0.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
8740 Quimper Place
Shreveport, LA 71105
Regions Bank, Southeast Shreveport Branch (0.4 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
8350 Millicent Way
Shreveport, LA 71115
Capital One, Ellerbe Road Branch (1.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
8989 Ellerbe Road
Shreveport, LA 71106
Ouachita Independent Bank, Ellerbe Road Branch (1.2 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
9010 Ellerbe Rd
Shreveport, LA 71106

More