Associated Bank, Review

Associated Bank, Review

Average rating based on 28 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
12
4 star:
2
3 star:
1
2 star:
5
1 star:
8
| Next Page >     Page 1 of 2
Third Bank Review
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Cutntan, May. 02, 2017

Best bank in town friendly and nice see for your self.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Associated Bank, Third Lake Branch at Grayslake, IL
Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

disclosing private bank info to unauthorized person
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by pssdoff1, Mar. 29, 2016

my friend opened up another acct so his granddaughter couldnt get her hands on his money.join acct (same bank).The acct was for him only and I as authorized.The granddaughter asked to see the acct of my friend and the girl looked it up and asked "which one"?.Now the granddaughter knew he had another acct which he did not want her to know about.This is invasion of privacy since the granddaughters name was not listed on the 2nd acct.Very dissappointed !!!!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Associated Bank, Janesville Pick N Save Branch at Janesville, WI
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

A Nice Thank You Letter
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Psybathatha, Oct. 18, 2015

My mom recently came into this bank to pay off the rest of my mortgage. A few days later, I receive a hand written card letting me know that my mortgage had been paid off and thanking me for my business.

In an era where everything is electronic and every customer is a number. This gesture really stood out.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Associated Bank, Burnsville Branch at Burnsville, MN
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

good people
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by maxleo, Aug. 21, 2015

the employees at the associated bank are some of the most polite people and are very efficient  people, cant do enough for you.  

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Associated Bank, Hayward Branch at Hayward, WI
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Bad service would never bank here.
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Other Services
by candybaker914, Aug. 15, 2014

Today my sister who is disabled walked to this bank on 18th street in Kenosha. She just moved into apartment down the street and needed quarters to do laundry and man at counter was very rude to her and said she could not buy quarters because she does not bank there.  Our Mother banks at your bank. And after that' she is  changing banks. I feel man at counter was judging my sister by her looks she is very skinny and has stage 4 cancer. She had to walk another block to walgreen's. I will pass this along bad service....

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Associated Bank, Kenosha Pick N Save 18th Branch at Kenosha, WI
10 of 15 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

4 comments. Add a comment

by Rsyverson 2014-08-18 09:05:52
Pathetic all she wanted was to buy some quarters. Jeez remind me not to chose this bank.
by TONZ542 2015-07-22 15:48:06
This is one of the worst Associated Bank Branches in Waukesha. Upon arriving to the bank, which I was a previous customer of, I was immediately treated as a second rate citizen. I was treated as though I was the idiot consumer and they were the smart bankers. The issue we were having involved a family member having their card put on hold without their knowledge. Instead of politely describing the issue and Teller "M" and Manager "B" (first letter of first names) immediately assumed it was us in the wrong and not them. Needless to say our family will no longer be customers of this Bank due to this Branch's terrible customer service. We plan to move to a financial institution that sees their clients as people instead of mindless Flesh-Bags of money.
by WakeUpCall 2015-07-23 08:41:15
That is the policy of ALL banks.  They can't be using their limited resources to be taking care of those that are not their customers.  Are you willing to PAY anything for their employees time?  And yes, your MOTHER is a customer of theirs, NOT YOU!
by MrMiller 2016-04-01 18:23:50
I have been at Associated Bank for around 15 years.  I do not have to go into the Bank to often due to direct deposits, and online banking.  I had to use the Merrill Branch on Friday as I was heading to Michigan.  Never again. I had to cash a fairly large deposit and then I wanted to do a separate withdrawal.  The teller said she had to have someone go into the vault with her and could I have a seat.  Really as the lobby was filling up. 20 minutes later after sitting there I just left.  Thank god they had a BMO Harris Bank in that town where I have an account also, I went there.  Will be closing my account at Associated for the rotten service!
Elderly Couple unable to read sign is deemed SECURITY THREAT
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ElderlyCouple, Apr. 24, 2014

At the direction of their Security Department Associated Bank closes Elderly Couple’s accounts.

After voicing their opinion about signs on the door being in spanish a couple is getting their account closed.  The couple got their first mortgage through Associated Bank 30 years ago, had several car loans, along with savings, checking, and money market accounts. After May 5th they are no longer allowed to bank there.

When going into the Associated Bank in Montgomery, IL, a small suburb 30 miles west of Chicago, they were bombarded with Spanish signs.  This is a trend in the area where signs are in both English and Spanish.  They proceeded to tell the cashier that they were unable to read the signs that were in Spanish.  The cashier apologized and she proceeded to remove the signs, although the couple did not ask her to do so.

On a subsequent visit, the signs were back up, the couple hoping to find English on the other side, flip the sign around.  It was blank.  The sign was put back blank side out.  Again, they told the cashier they were unable to read the signage, finished their banking business and left.

The couple was contacted by the bank manager, Tony Perez, after the latest visit.  At that visit they did not ask to be contacted. Mr. Perez called and said it was reported that someone touched their sign.  Apparently this act warranted the call.  Not wanting to discuss this over the phone the couple asked Mr. Perez to put what he had to say in writing.  He never did and that letter never arrived.

The bank called a couple times, leaving voice messages to return their call, but the couple could not understand why such a insignificant situation warranted any response. They were dealing with pneumonia for a month, followed by the flu, and one of them is legally blind.  On top of that, their adult son is completely paralyzed and needs 24/7 care.

On March 6th the couple received a certified letter informing them that their account will be closed on May 5th.  

The letter states:
"I am a Bank Manager for Associated Bank, National Association ("Associated").  Pursuant to Associated's rules and regulations governing its accounts, and at the direction of our security department, Associated reserves the right to close a customer's account at any time, with or without cause.  This letter is to advise you that the above-referenced accounts will be closed on May 5th, 2014.  The balance in the deposit account on said date  will be sent to you by check."

This elderly couple is being forced to find a new bank.  Forced to redo their social security direct deposit.  Forced to get new checks and all the other things that go along with getting a new bank.  Let alone this bank has a branch where they have a summer home, 450 miles away, which made it convenient for them and one of the reasons they opened an account.

The couple are speechless.  They are shocked by the account closure.  The bank manager was unavailable for comment.

Obviously, common sense and Customer Service has gone down the drain.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Associated Bank, Montgomery Branch at Montgomery, IL
12 of 15 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by AssociatedBank 2014-06-24 15:12:28
Dear ElderlyCouple,

We are glad to have had a chance to discuss and resolve your concerns. If you have any other issues, or would like to discuss this further, please call our We Care team at 1-800-685-6895 whenever it is most convenient for you. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
by judge 2015-02-16 17:30:40
Why would you turn the sign around so that Spanish-readers couldn't read it?  That seems a bit aggressive.
Terrible Service.. I'M FINALLY DONE AFTER 25 YEARS
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by sudsguzzler, Apr. 12, 2014

I have to say that I've been ok with Associated Bank for years, but really, I just put money in and take money out and rarely do I make an appearance at the bank, therefore, the Customer Service or lack thereof is not tested too often. This all changed on 4/10/14 when I had a very important trip planned to Chicago. The trip was necessary for my Wife to update some government paperwork. One necessity was to have a paper signed by her and notarized. I have used the folks at Associated from time to time for notarizing and it usually goes off without a hitch. We actually changed our entire schedule as we planned on leaving very early, but instead left at 8:45am in order to arrive at the bank at 9am, then on our way. We arrived, cashed a check, then I asked if I could please have a signature notarized. Up stepped a Teller whom I will call 'R'. I explained the entire situation and had my Wife alongside with all of her identification. She confirmed back to me in question form that this was for my Wife? I said Yes. Then "R" asked if she had an account with Associated Bank. I told her NO, but confirmed that I've had one for many years. She then told me she couldn't do the notarizing unless she has an account. Then, as we were conversing, another Teller, we will call "F" stepped up and obviously only heard part of the discussion, interrupted and blurted out "She has to be here", meaning my Wife! and yes, you understood correctly, my Wife was standing by my side. Both "R" and myself told the know it all "F" that my Wife is right here and ready to sign. (apparently, this means that if my Wife is here, it's ok), but "F" just faded back and now agreed with "R" about the lack of account thing. I'll be honest, as I always am. I was MIFFED to say the least. Is this really a problem? Is this really an issue of National Security. IT'S MY WIFE. I even had my marriage certificate with me if they wanted that! This whole issue could have been easily avoided. Let's just say that "R" probably could have been called "B"!!! I will tell you something I'm not proud of. I'm 49 years old and pride myself of being under control and cool, calm, and collected no matter what, however I verbally blew up!! I haven't had this kind of temper come out of me EVER. It seems so senseless. I didn't swear and I didn't call anybody what I wanted to, but I said I was really ticked off at them. I yelled that I've been with them for probably 25 years and this is the kind of Service I get!! I told them they really screwed up. I repeated it's my Wife and Teller "F" kept arguing as I went out the door when I said it shouldn't matter whether my Wife personally has an account. She kept saying "It Matters" and I kept saying "It's my Wife". So senseless... Just so senseless! Why would they have to do that to me? I have already told my Father who has been with them forever. Heck, he's the reason I started with them. He is also appalled by this. Not to mention that now, I had to screw around and find a notary before we could continue our trip to Chicago. Really Really Disappointed !!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Associated Bank, Watertown Downtown Branch at Watertown, WI
11 of 12 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by AssociatedBank 2014-06-24 15:13:31
Dear Sudsguzzler,

We were very sorry to hear of your experience and are happy to have had a chance to discuss this with you. Your feedback is genuinely appreciated. Thank you for letting us know about this issue. If we can ever be of further assistance, please feel free to call our We Care team anytime at 1-800-685-6895.
by judge 2015-02-16 17:21:32
It's not the bank.  It's the Patriot Act.  This law is over the top.  It was a stupid reaction by cowardly politicians.  You should contact your current representative and senators to get it changed.
Customer
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by irishgrandma4, Jan. 11, 2014

We have been at this bank over 41 years,using it for both personal and two business accounts.
We choose it carefully when we moved to this state.
Any problems or difficulties we had over the years were
easily solved. The staff has always been pleasant and easy to work with, even during the recent downsizing, a high tension time for all of them, I am sure.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Associated Bank, Sturgeon Bay Downtown Branch at Sturgeon Bay, WI
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

VERY disappointed!!!
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by andaubadd2, Sep. 03, 2013

I was very disappointed with the service I received today when  I tried to go and get the remainder of my rent out of my bank account.
There was a payroll check deposited on Saturday(they get these every 2 weeks) and in order to make my full rent payment I need $155 from that deposit.
At the Main St location they told me that only a Branch Manager could take the hold off so they sent me on a wild goose chase around Green Bay (the Branch Manager, Gerardo Mercado, at the University location did not even seem to care that I was obviously upset) only to have some guy call me back to tell me that he couldn't do it either.
So now I will have a $30 late fee for rent. Who should be responsible for that when I made ever effort to pay on-time, but my bank just will not release me the money that is in my account???
Never had this problem at another bank unless the check was over $1000. This is a bit ridiculous!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 6 months - 1 year
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Associated Bank, Green Bay University Branch at Green Bay, WI
8 of 15 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

1 comment. Add a comment

by upsetwiththeholds 2013-10-01 18:46:10
yes they give you only 100$ of your money and then hold the rest till the next day....this is a policy thay say. its soo lame.
home refinancing
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Robb, Mar. 16, 2013

I have been paying a high interest rate on my home. I am a disabled veteran with my own small auto repair. I have substantial funds at assotiated, savings, business checking, personal checking,and my wife's business checking. My credit score is a 740 and everything is current. Associated will not refinance at the lower rate with the excuse of not enough income. Really, I think it is just better to keep taking the extra money each month than to refinance. Banks hide behind there so called rules at times.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Associated Bank, Shawano Main Branch at Shawano, WI
4 of 8 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Mequon Branch
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Me2012, Oct. 30, 2012

Very pleased with how the Mequon branch treated me. I have never felt so appreciated as a customer. They had my best interest at heart and I couldn't be happier. Because of the day I had, I will be an Associated customer for a long time!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Associated Bank, Mequon Branch at Mequon, WI
3 of 5 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Associated Bank of Hammond
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Julie, Oct. 25, 2012

I really like this branch...they are super friendly and know how to treat customers.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Associated Bank, Baldwin Branch at Baldwin, WI
2 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Rating for Associated Bank
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by nataschasaylor, Aug. 13, 2012

The staff is so wonderful! They remember my name and things about me. Regardless of being friendly and easy for me when I'm doing my banking and they don't require my state ID, they are so welcoming and answer any question I have. They're even nice to my boyfriend who comes in with me, and remember things about him even though he doesn't even bank with them!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Associated Bank, Green Bay Festival Foods West Branch at Green Bay, WI
1 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Take your money somewhere else
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ddatin, Jul. 18, 2012

After I deposited money into my checking accout they FAILED to tell me they were gonna hold funds which caused 4 over drafts of 35$ each. After just deciding to close my account and go to a better bank they decided they'd split the fees with me!! Are you serious!!? So I closed and went to another bank where I have been nothing but happy!!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Associated Bank, Alton Branch at Alton, IL
6 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

2 comments. Add a comment

by andaubadd2 2013-09-03 18:01:50
At least I'm not the only one.
by rescuediver 2015-03-22 10:39:37
All banks hold funds for a short period of time to prevent fraud.
You should read the information you receive when you open an account.
North Branch outlet
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by dawnoh, Jul. 12, 2012

I've had nothing but good service here. The staff is very helpful and patient when I have to cash savings bonds which takes alot of time for them. I love em!
Dawn Larson

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Associated Bank, North Branch Branch at North Branch, MN
1 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Gary and Sue
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Suec, Feb. 06, 2012

We have had nothing but postive experiences with Associated Bank at East Towne.  We have been with them for many years.  We have our mortage, and checking account with them.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this review was made on Associated Bank, Madison East Towne Branch at Madison, WI
2 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Gary and Sue
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Suec, Feb. 06, 2012

We have had nothing but postive experiences with Associated Bank at East Towne.  We have been with them for many years.  We have our mortage, and checking account with them.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this review was made on Associated Bank, Madison East Towne Branch at Madison, WI
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Gary and Sue
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Suec, Feb. 06, 2012

We have had nothing but postive experiences with Associated Bank at East Towne.  We have been with them for many years.  We have our mortage, and checking account with them.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this review was made on Associated Bank, Madison East Towne Branch at Madison, WI
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Bellevue Copps Branch
Overall Rating
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by Katie28, Jan. 28, 2012

It would be difficult to find more personable staff at any bank.  I have been with Associated since it was Kellogg Bank many years ago.  I have always been satisfied, but the Copps Bellevue branch is exceptional!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Associated Bank, Bellevue Copps Branch at Green Bay, WI
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Terrible service, Terrible Financial Rep. and terrible people skills
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Jarel, Jan. 04, 2012

I am about to begin the process of switching financial institutions after 10 years with associated bank based upon the extremely poor customer service and people skills displayed by their Financial Representative Chris Forcier. I hold four (4) accounts with Associated bank, 1 checking and 3 savings accounts 2 of which belong to my children were I am the custodian. I've attempted to contact Mr. Forcier on 4 different occasions over the course of 2 and 1/2 months!! I was hoping to switch my children's savings accounts to 529 college savings accounts. Every time I attempted to contact Mr. Forcier my call went straight to voice-mail. I left messages that included my full name and phone number and no attempt was EVER made to call me back. When I was finally able to track Mr. Frocier down he told me that he was in and out of his office and his assistant should've handled it. This is not the first problem I've experienced with Associated Bank indicating that if you are not extremely wealthy they don't value your business, but it will be that last.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Associated Bank, Eau Claire Regis Branch at Eau Claire, WI
7 of 10 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next Page >     Page 1 of 2

Banks Nearby

Lindell Bank & Trust Company, East Saint Louis Branch (0.0 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
327-333 Missouri Avenue
East Saint Louis, IL 62202
First Bank, East St. Louis Branch (0.6 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
350 Riverpark Drive
East Saint Louis, IL 62201
Stifel Trust Company, Stifel Trust Company, National Association (1.6 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
501 North Broadway
Saint Louis, MO 63102
Stifel Bank and Trust, Stifel Bank And Trust (1.6 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
501 North Broadway
Saint Louis, MO 63102
BMO Harris Bank, Downtown Branch (1.6 miles)
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
100 South Fourth Street, Suite 100
Saint Louis, MO 63102

More