Amegy Bank, Review

Amegy Bank, Review

Average rating based on 13 reviews
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
5 star:
4
4 star:
1
3 star:
0
2 star:
1
1 star:
7
| Next >     page 1 of 2
Incompetency
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by FrustratedByAmegy, Oct. 16, 2013

Just don't go to this branch, or the Westchase branch.  I was a proponent of Amegy for 8 years as a loyal customer.  My negative experiences have caused me to switch banks, but I still can't get out of the system!  It has been 100 days since my original issue and it can't be resolved.  There have been privacy breaches, closed accounts, re-charged/re-opened accounts which shouldn't have happened, and overall incompetence.  Save yourself the trouble.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Amegy Bank, Heights-Taylor Banking Center at Houston, TX
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Multiple mis-steps at this branch
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by ThisBranchIsAwful, Jul. 30, 2013

I recently moved to the area so I started using this branch.  I've been extremely unhappy with the amount of problems I've encountered.  My wife banks across the street and I've been trying to convince her to come over to Amegy (as I am happy with the bank chain overall), but this branch has killed any chance of that happening.  So many problems...not sure where to start:

1.  Wife tried to get a cashiers check...they had to reprint THREE times becuase they got her name wrong (she's on my account as a secondary user)

2.  Tried to get a printed copy of a check...they couldn't access the full back part of the check because it was scanned incorrectly

3.  Got a loan through the bank...total incompetence...took money out of my account that was part of the loan, didn't file my TT&L paperwork, horrendous wait times, just a genuinely awful experience.

I think Eileen, the branch manager tries to do well, but she spends so much time fixing problems.  I like Amegy, but I would never go to this branch again...I'll have to find the second-most convenient location and try there.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Amegy Bank, Westchase Banking Center at Houston, TX
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Discriminating Employees Who Should Be FIRED
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by adou24, Jul. 10, 2013



I went into the Seagler and Westheimer location to cash a check for 10 grand. The tellers name was Terry and the manager assisting him was named Aileen. I was asked to wait a moment while the check was verified - I responded "no problem" after 20 minutes Terry returns and tells me that after speaking with someone the check is a "fake". I am a 27 year old business owner who has dealt with panic attacks in the past so I calmly took deep breaths and insisted they go through every possible avenue because I have too much to lose for a foolish attempt of that sort. 10 minutes later they came back and cashed the check but my issue began the moment they "jumped the gun" and approached me saying the check was fraudulent. Moral of this story is Never judge a book by it's cover. I will be cashing many more checks with Amegy and possibly would have considered opening an account but now that will NEVER happen. I hope the employees are reprimanded at minimum for ignorant, discriminatory and unprofessional behavior. I will now simply put them in one of my Bank Of America accounts. Avoid dealing with these guys. They aren't worth the hassle.


* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Amegy Bank, Westchase Banking Center at Houston, TX
4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

loan officers great
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by TomDybala, Jun. 28, 2013

I came into the Tanglewood branch frazzled and short of cash. Abby Hernandez and Joe Skalak were both very helpful in directing me into a loan that fit just right. and Abby was particular personable. Thanks for the smiles.
Oh, the Other Services rating I made only 3 stars (average) because the coffee was not hot. in the afternoon. But the brownies were good! Oh, and the procedure to leave this comment is too lengthy!

* this reviewer has be with this bank for <6 months
* this reviewer had 6 - 10 banks before.
* this review was made on Amegy Bank, Tanglewood Branch at Houston, TX
0 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Abraham
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by Abraham, Mar. 06, 2013

Worst amegy bank branch.. Wait time in drive thru is like 23 min on average day when no customers in line .. Tellers are dumb and not moving..

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 3 - 10 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Amegy Bank, Bellaire Banking Center at Bellaire, TX
3 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Eh, so, so..
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by OneTimeUser, Jan. 10, 2013

I banked with Amegy for many, many years and overall, was happy with them. Phone service and teller service was good. I was on the fence about keeping the account open simply because I did not need it anymore. When I closed my account, the representative showed little concern for the closure and did not even bother asking why or try to keep me. I was somewhat disappointed about that.  What I DISLIKED after the fact, was I needed copies of my bank e-statements for tax purposes (I no longer received copies by mail to save on paper), but because the account was closed, I could not access them online. I was told to go into the branch only to have to pay $5 for each statement. Not cool.. I give 3.5 stars.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Amegy Bank, Bell Tower Certer Branch at Houston, TX
1 of 1 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

MsA
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by MsAsh, Jan. 01, 2013

After reading the poor negative reviews I had to write my positive relationship.I bank at the Eldridge Branch in Houston and they are wonderful. Friendly, responsive, and always greet me warmly.
Would highly recommened them.

* this review was made on Amegy Bank, Love Field Branch at Dallas, TX
0 of 3 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

no good
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by customerA, Nov. 05, 2012

"Condescending". That's the term used by one of the reviewers about the employees at this branch. I'd say not all of them are this way, but definitely one of them, the early middle-aged guy sitting at the desk near the door, does give me this impression -strongly. I thought I was a foreigner - at least I look like a foreigner - was the reason he treated me with that attitude, but obviously, i'm not the only customer who've got that treatment. ANother thing is the online banking is difficult (to be fair, it's perhaps not a problem directly related to this branch). It has been difficult for me to log in for a long time. I've called technical support a couple of times, and after the problem was supposed to be solved each time, I still can't log in to my own account. Not recommended.

* this review was made on Amegy Bank, Holcombe Blvd Branch at Houston, TX
0 of 2 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Excellent Service
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
Other Services
by jactom, Sep. 03, 2012

Service has been excellent. Recent improvements in customer service reps has made a big difference.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for 1 - 3 years
* this reviewer had 3 - 5 banks before.
* this review was made on Amegy Bank, Old Town Spring Branch at Spring, TX
3 of 4 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

Amegy Bank, Bellaire
Overall Rating
Interest Rate and Cost
Office Environment & Staff
Waiting Time
by jailcrooks, Aug. 13, 2012

Amegy is an awful bank overall but the Bellaire location is rude, cold and dim. Have to wonder if they have to be charged at night.  When I tried for their atm/deposit for the first time and it still wasnt't showing up two days later, instead of telling me why and taking responsibility, I heard, "Hope you learned your lesson."  "Why did you do that? "It is new!" When I closed one account because I had switched services on a couple of bills, I went over what could be paid and they said that if anything other than what I gave them showed up, they would call me to see if it should be paid or sent back.  Did that happen?  No, and then it was my fault.  On top of that they are condescending which is interesting coming from employees that work for crooks that don't value their customers so they damn sure don't hold the employees in high regard.  Which is probably why they are so awful.  Southwest was a wonderful bank and would call you if it looked like you may need to deposit money so a check would go through.  They didn't sit there and wait while rubbing their hands and slobbering.

* this reviewer has be with this bank for >10 years
* this reviewer had 1 - 2 banks before.
* this review was made on Amegy Bank, Bellaire Banking Center at Bellaire, TX
5 of 7 people found this review helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes, No   Report Abuse

0 comment. Add a comment

| Next >     page 1 of 2
Wells Fargo Bank, South Magnolia Parkway Branch
Full Service Brick and Mortar Office
33030 Fm 2978 Rd
Magnolia, TX 77354
Woodforest National Bank, 1488 Motorbank Branch
Limited Service Facility Office
6910 F.M. 1488, Suite 6
Magnolia, TX 77354